Bad Things Happening!!!

Why do bad things happen to good people?

2014-05-15_1557

Have you ever asked this question?

This has been a question many people have asked time and again. Many books have been written and sermons preached on the subject. A book by that very title has even been written. Get it HERE.

Yet the question is still asked.

I met with a group of men last Tuesday night for a Bible study. (In fact I will be speaking to this group of men next Tuesday night (May 20th), so please pray the meeting will be anointed)

The topic of the study was, How can bad things happen to God’s people?

I won’t get into all the deep theological conclusions some tend to throw out there. I’m a simple kind of guy. I like simple kinds of answers, if at all possible.

I have always seen the answer to this age-old question as being really quite basic:

We live in a sin-fallen world.

That’s it. Whether you are saved or lost, things happen, both good and bad. Matthew 5:45, That ye may be the children of your Father which is in heaven: for he maketh his sun to rise on the evil and on the good, and sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust.

  • People lose their jobs
  • People offend or disappoint one another
  • People get sick
  • People pass away
  • People have accidents
  • People forget (birthdays, anniversaries, etc.)

Can you add to the list? I’m sure you can because we have all experienced things that we wish we didn’t have to.

So,if you live in this world, get ready: things are going to happen! It doesn’t matter who you are or how much money you have or don’t have. It doesn’t even matter if you are saved or lost, things are going to happen.

It’s How We Deal With Them That Matters

John 16:33, These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.

Question: Do you believe there is a difference between knowing God and knowing about God?

I believe there is a huge difference. Many people can sit and hear a sermon and know about God. That does not mean they know God in a personal way.

Why do I bring this up in the middle of talking about bad things happening? Because of the way different people view these bad things and what their attitudes are toward them.

I have been in the ministry for many years. I have known of people (supposedly believers) who, when something bad happens in their life, get angry with God, they blame God.

I try to be very understanding because I fully realize that not everyone believes the way I do or has the same outlook as I do. But here I must confess, I cannot fathom anyone who truly knows Jesus, getting angry with Him for anything.

When I was saved, I was saved! God brought me out of darkness into His marvelous light. He brought me from death to life, from blindness to sight, and He revealed Himself to me and I came to know Him.

In truly knowing Him, I cannot fathom ever being angry with Him. I have had some pretty bad things happen through the years in my life. I have never blamed God.

I am not trying to toot my own self-righteous horn, I am not trying to be holier-than-thou, I am merely stating the fact that I know Him and therefore cannot be angry with Him!

  • I know how good He is, not from what I have been told at church, but from personal experience.
  • I know how much He has forgiven me (and continues to, 1 John 1:7).
  • I know He loves me, not just from what I have heard at church, but from what I have experienced personally.
  • I know that, like a Father, He has my best interests in mind.

Do you know Him?

I am far, far, far, far, far from perfect. But THAT is the beauty of His grace and the beauty of having a relationship with Him. You see, I am not perfect,…but He is.

Confession-In fact, right now I am having a really hard time dealing with some feelings I have. Anyone who knows me, knows that you can pretty much spit in my face and I will chock it up to the fact that person must probably be having a bad day and I let it just roll off. But don’t mess with my wife! With everything my wife has on her plate right now (e.g. our son is undergoing chemotherapy treatments), she needs friends, encouragement, prayer partners, and general support. She does not need someone screaming in her face, which is what has happened recently. As she is the most important person in the world to me, I am finding it difficult to know how to deal with this. Please pray for me.

I read a creed for 2014 a local church put out to it’s congregation. One of the sentences states:

“I will not let what is wrong with me, keep me from worshipping what is right with Him”

How about you?

  • Do you know Him?
  • Do you struggle with why bad things happen in your life?
  • Do you find yourself ever angry with God?

If so,

  • Has it placed a barrier between you and God?
  • Has it hindered your prayer life?
  • Has it hindered your church life and fellowship with other believers?
  • Is His presence real to you now?

We can get bitter…or we can get better. When unpleasant things happen, we have an opportunity to grow; grow more spiritually mature, grow in our relationship with the Lord, grow in our faith. When something bad happens, it is an opportunity to draw close to God to seek His help in time of need.

“Thank you, Lord for the trouble. Without it, we would not have gotten so close to You”.

Ponder these things in your heart and TAG!, you’re it.

Leave a Reply

