Can I Believe?

Can I believe? What if I have even a slight doubt?

Mark 11:24, Therefore I say unto you, What things soever ye desire, when ye pray, believe that ye receive them, and ye shall have them.

I believe with all my heart that the Word of God has been perfectly preserved by

His own hand and that every word is important. The manner in which things are worded

are extremely important. Notice how that verse is worded; believe first then receive.

That sounds crazy, believe you have it and then you will. You have to believe, honestly

believe that you will receive what you have asked of God according to His will and the

Bible says, “YE SHALL HAVE THEM.” James says, “…let him ask in faith, nothing

wavering.” When God first began to burden me with this truth, my first question was,

“Lord, I want to believe like that, really I do but I fear that even as much as I believe,

there will still be some doubt in the back of my mind.” Do you ever have those doubts?

Do you ever question your own faith? Sure you do, we all do at one time or another but

that is only natural. Well then how can it work, what can we do about it? All the answers

are in the Word of God.

Mark 9:23-24, Jesus said unto him, If thou canst believe, all things are possible to him

that believeth. And straightway the father of the child cried out, and said with tears, Lord, I

believe; help thou mine unbelief.

How can you strengthen your faith? How can you strengthen your belief? It is so

simple, you will laugh.

Ask!

If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, and

upbraideth not; and it shall be given him.

Over and over the Bible tells us to ask. Ask for anything according to God’s will.

The man in the gospel of Mark admitted that he had a measure of belief. He confessed

that he believed a little bit or he may even have had great belief but he also confessed

that he had at least some unbelief. What did he do? Did he mope off feeling defeated

and depressed? Not at all, he simply asked.

“Lord, I believe; help thou mine unbelief.”

I do hope that you will take your copy of God’s Word and read more in context

than what I type here. If you read this story in its entirety, you will find that he actually

did not ask in some nonchalant way. Look at the verse in Mark’s Gospel account above

very closely. How did he ask?

‘ …the father of the child cried out, and said with tears…’

What do you want to ask Him for? Are you willing to trust Him, even if the answer is “no”? He is your Father. He wants the best for you, but He also KNOWS WHATS BEST for you. Trust Him.

trust11

What does God have for you…just around the corner?

Leave a Reply

