If You Don’t Write it Down, It Never Happened

“We wait for God to bless us while God waits for us to accept the blessing.”
 Betsy Otter Thompson

Sensitivity to God’s Spirit takes spending time IN the Spirit. This is my last post on morning devotion. You may read the entire article I found HERE.

As far as the title of the post goes, look HERE for an article on the idea.

1338997261_1385403335

I don’t want to under-emphasize this. But I do think there’s a lot of value in keeping a journal as it relates to our quiet time. Some of you aren’t into writing your thoughts, that’s fine. But it can be helpful in meditating on God’s Word, expressing your response to God, recording and remembering the works of God, creating and preserving a spiritual heritage you can pass on to the next generation, monitoring your spiritual growth and goals and priorities, just a way of recording the ways of God.

I think the enemy wants to do everything possible to keep me from getting that time with the Lord. I find if I will write things down, what God is saying to me through His Word, if it’s even just copying Scripture, it’s helping me concentrate and helping reign in my thoughts.

Well, as you have your quiet time, you want to make sure it has balanced ingredients. And there’s no right way to do this, but I think you want to remember it’s two-way communication.First, we want to receive from Him, and then we want to respond to Him.

How do we receive from Him? Through His Word. We listen to His Word. We have such a blessing in our generation to have in this culture Christian speakers and books and radio programs and CDs and podcasts. But I want to tell you, listening to others who’ve met with God in His Word is no substitute for you meeting God, for me meeting God in His Word, alone by ourselves.

They can encourage you; they can challenge you, but you’ve got to have this time in the Word to let the power of the Word of God cleanse, to renew our minds, to deliver us from sin, to keep us from anxious thoughts, to change us from the inside out. It is so, so powerful. Can you imagine us getting to heaven and God saying, “I gave you My heart, My thoughts, My Word, My mind. I gave it to you so you could know Me. What did you do with it?” We say, “I never even read through it. I kept it on the shelf. I pulled it out at service times.

I just know that when my life is really growing and fertile and fruitful, usually you can see a connection that I’m getting time reading God’s Word, pondering it, meditating on it, memorizing it, internalizing it, responding to it, obeying it, sharing it with others. There is no more precious treasure other than the life of the living Word in us that we have than this living Word of God. It’s so, so precious. That’s got to be a huge part of our time in the Word.
I have  a stack of journals now. I encourage you to start one. I never sit down with my Bible without my journal, they simply go together. When God speaks, I write it down. I love Habakkuk 2:2 that says, And the LORD answered me, and said, Write the vision, and make it plain upon tables, that he may run that readeth it.
Have you begun your morning devotional? No? Then why do you expect things to be any different in your life?
Make a change AND MAKE IT HAPPEN TODAY!
What does God have for you…just around the corner?
Leave a Reply

