15 Minutes to Change Your Life

Why is it we WANT to improve our situations, but we are unwilling to do what it takes to actually do it?

I have been so busy with my new job (though I can’t believe it’s been 10 months already) that I haven’t had time (or made the time) to post very many blogs,…or do much of anything else, for that matter.

Even though we have responsibilities and deadlines, we still have a choice. We either run our life or it runs us. 

Sure, I have to perform my duties but the Lord has been dealing with me about the other important things in my life that I do not need to ignore, but that I need to MAKE time to do. I ran across this article and it really spoke to me, as I have experienced the truth of it. I thought I’d share it with you.

Image

I know a pastor’s wife. I ran into her, and I had not seen her in some time. This is a woman who always looked put together, always looked amazing and seemed like she had it all together. I ran into her having not seen her in a few years, and I said, “Linda, how are you doing?

Well, she looked great, but she wasn’t great. She started unloading to me what was going on in her life. Her marriage was under pressure; their kids were walking away from the Lord; their church was having major issues. Her life was a mess. She was a mess by her own admission.

I was just trying to minister grace to her. What do you say? It’s just a short encounter. “So, Linda, what do you do when you get up in the morning?

“Well, I get a cup of coffee and get my newspaper.” This was back when we had newspapers.

And I said, “I want to give you a thirty-day challenge.” The same challenge I’m giving each of us tonight.

I said, “I want to challenge you every day for the next thirty days. Get your coffee if you need that to get some caffeine flowing in your veins. But before you pick up the newspaper or do anything else, would you pick up this Book, and would you get some time in God’s presence. Let Him speak to you. Meet with Him.”

It actually took her, as I recall, about a week to take the challenge. She just had habits and habits die hard. That wasn’t one of her habits at that point. She had that habit years earlier but not at that point.

But she finally took the challenge. Some thirty days later I was in touch with her. I said, “Linda, how you doing?”

She said, “Oh, Nancy, my heart has been revived. You know when I first started this challenge, fifteen minutes was too long. Now, two hours isn’t long enough. If I didn’t have to clean the house and do some other things, I would just stay there.

Now, I’ll tell you this. In that thirty-day period, nothing else around her had changed. Still challenges in her marriage, still challenges with her kids, still challenges in their church. But here’s what had changed. She had changed. She had been meeting with the Lord.

 

I used to apologize or kind of choke when I would say this one because I knew what a lot of people were thinking. But I’m not so apologetic about it anymore because I think there really is strong scriptural basis for it, and you can ask God to lead you in this. But I think there is a lot of value in having this time with the Lord early in the day.

Now, I just lost all my night owls. And some of you are thinking, What time is early? You know what? I can’t tell you what time is early. It may be different for you than it is for me or for somebody else, but before we run into the day. Now, there’s no law about this. Get the time.

And for you it may be when your kids are down for a nap, or maybe you’re really a lot more awake at night. I just find that if I go into my day without having stopped to meet with the Lord that it’s going to be really hard for me to get a quiet heart the rest of the day. Maybe you’re wired differently.

But listen to these verses:

But unto thee have I cried, O LORD; and in the morning shall my prayer prevent thee. (Ps. 88:13 ).

My voice shalt thou hear in the morning, O LORD; in the morning will I direct my prayer unto thee, and will look up. (Ps. 5:3 )

Awake up, my glory; awake, psaltery and harp: I myself will awake early. (Ps. 57:8 )

I prevented the dawning of the morning, and cried: I hoped in thy word. (Ps. 119:147)

Many verses about God waking us in the morning to listen to Him.

 

Are you willing to make some changes this year? I have said this many times but it bears repeating; the definition of insanity is doing the same things over and over, yet expecting different results. If we want things to BE different, we have to be willing to DO some things differently.

I’ll share some more about this in my next post. What does God have for you…just around the corner?

 

Leave a Reply

