Bold Humility

I was praying Monday regarding what God would have me to preach that night at revival services. The night before, we prepared for revival by humbling ourselves before God.

As I prayed Monday, the Holy Spirit began to lay on my heart that what many in the church think humility is, is actually a twisted definition that the devil has slipped in along the way.

At this prompting of the Spirit, I began to pray about humility. We have been taught, as believers, that we are supposed to be humble. That is true, but the problem is we have a twisted view of what true humility is.

The kind of humility many in the church try to practice says that we are nothing. We are just miserable sinners and we don’t deserve to raise our heads and even look people in the eye. “Oh, I’m just a sinner saved by grace”, “Oh, I just don’t deserve Jesus, He has been so good and I am so filthy”.

Who are we going to lead to Jesus that way?

As I was praying, the Holy Spirit spoke a word to me and I just had to stop and write it down. Are you ready? Here it is…

Humility is not professing that we are nothing.

Humility is professing we are nothing without Him

Without Him I am nothing, but with Him, I am a child of God, I am a joint-heir with Jesus Christ, I am a new creature in Him, I am MADE the righteousness of God in Christ, I am new, I have joy, I have power, I have authority through the name of Him who has saved me and set me free!

Hallelujah!

Do you know who you really are in Christ?

What does God have for you…just around the corner?

6 thoughts on “Bold Humility

  1. Why do so many of us (men) have problems with truly trusting and following God. We can plan our day and execute our job with precision…but when it comes to keeping our commitment of marriage, devotions, and being spiritual leaders in our home we fail miserably.

    Just another think to think about …

    Like

Leave a Reply

