Just Like the Good Ole Days

Many times I find myself referring to my old pastorate when I speak of mighty things God has done that I have witnessed for myself. God did many wonderful works at my old church that bring back great memories of those who attended there and of God’s awesome love for us. Please understand it had nothing to do with me, it had to do with a church that, for the most part, was willing to strive to be obedient, demonstrate their love for God toward other people, and because the powerful Word of God was being preached, taught, and believed. When you have that combination, God will do nothing but show up, show out, and bless!

As I posted last, I have accepted an interim position at another church recently. I have been asked before by a few other churches but I did not sense God was in it.

God is in this.

I have not been able to shake the feeling of a call, as God has turned my heart from revivalism to pastorism (Is there such a word?…you know what I mean! Smile).

What really excites me are the new messages God has been laying on my heart. Powerful, challenging, and encouraging messages. I have always preached what God has laid on my heart, however encouraging…or harsh they may be. The past few weeks of messages have been mostly faith building.

The Holy Spirit has shown me that lives are being changed, hearts are being touched with challenge and encouragement, marriages are being mended, bondages are being broken, and some are getting closer to God than they ever have in their lives before.

Why?

Because the Word of God is penetrating them and they are opening their eyes, ears, and hearts to things of God they have never considered before. He is becoming real to some of them and it is exciting to them! Again, I don’t want you to think it has anything to do with me, and I certainly do not mean to take anything away from their former pastor but the fact of the matter is, they are being exposed to the true Word of God with an anointing of the Holy Ghost and they cannot help but be stirred in their spirits.

It amazes me at how many people in the Church in America today think that Christianity is a religion and that it has no power to change lives today. Many think it is just a good moral philosophy to try to live by.

I beg to differ, not only out of belief but out of outright personal experience. When the Holy Ghost gets hold of you and the Word of God penetrates your very soul, something far beyond religion is going to happen to you. At that point, it doesn’t matter if you are sick, about to lose your house, just lost your job, can’t pay the bills, or your dog just ran off with the neighbor’s cat, YOU ARE A CHILD OF GOD and IN CHRIST, you can rise above the circumstances of this present life and have a peace that passeth understanding because of the Holy Ghost that resides in you and because of that blessed hope that lies ahead!

1 Peter 1:3-5 Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, which according to his abundant mercy hath begotten us again unto a lively hope by the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead,  To an inheritance incorruptible, and undefiled, and that fadeth not away, reserved in heaven for you,  Who are kept by the power of God through faith unto salvation ready to be revealed in the last time.

Let’s look at that again, shall we?

A “lively hope”…”an inheritance incorruptible, and undefiled, and that fadeth not away, reserved in heaven for you (I’ll say it again, FOR YOU),  Who are kept by the power of God (not by your own power) through faith…”

If you are saved, you are doing one of two things right now after having read that passage: 1. You are shouting. 2. You are dancing.

If you are religious, you are still trying to figure out what a “lively hope” is.

What does God have for you…Just around the corner?

Leave a Reply

