The Days in Which We Live

Hello and thank you for being so patient toward the Kingdom Watch posts. As of this moment, I believe that I am finished with school. Barring any unforeseen complications, I should hear back from both my final portfolio paper and my Organizational Research Project within a couple of weeks. This will be such a load off me. I look forward to being able to place more focus on my ministry, my family, and my job again.

We had a good time at Grace Baptist Church this past Sunday (2/27/11). Bro. Eric Martin became ill with the flu and I was privileged to be able to fill in for him. It was more a teaching than a preaching this time, as the Lord laid it on my heart to encourage the church to be very aware of our enemy the devil.


The question I asked: How many of you believe we do not have much time left in this world? (It should be plainly obvious to anyone with the Spirit of the Lord within them) Many raised their hands and said “Amen”. I said if we know it, then I will bet you a dime to a doughnut (A Tennessee phrase), I will bet you a dime to a doughnut our enemy knows it. And he is working hard attacking our families, attacking our children, attacking our marriages, attacking our churches, and attacking our very society.

Our churches are in trouble. I have seen adulterous affairs in our churches. I have seen our teenagers having babies. I have seen lieing and backbiting in our churches. I have seen alcohol and drug abuse in our churches.

Why? Because there is no fear of the Lord anymore, there is no conviction, no brokenness over sin, no unswerving belief in the authority and perfection of His Word, The Holy Bible. There is no striving to do what is right in His sight.

Again, why? That is the question I answered Sunday at Grace Baptist. To make a long teaching short, the bottom line is our enemy, the devil, is as a roaring lion, walking about seeking whom he may devour. We know that, but now more than ever he is at his work and I cannot stress how serious it is to be on our toes, (or have our toes stepped on) so to speak.

My wife ran into an old friend of ours the other day at Wal-Mart (where you can run into just about anyone). She had found out that one of their daughters, the same age as our son, had had a child out of wedlock. The statement this lady made is a sad commentary on our society and the state of mind of our church members. She said, “That’s just the way it is these days. That’s what these young people do today. They don’t see anything wrong with it.”

ARE YOU SERIOUS? Is this the attitude of our church members? NO Lady, this is not just the way it is! The WAY IT IS is spelled out very clearly in the Word of God. But that is the problem, isn’t it? The Word of God is not being taught in our homes, it’s not even being taught in our churches! A great falling away is taking place; a great falling away from the truth of the Word of God, a great falling away from obedience to the Word of God, a great falling away from faith in the Lord and fear of the Lord. All of which is gleaned from the study and the teaching of THE WORD OF GOD.

Listen to me (or read me) very carefully, you’d better get your heart, get your home, get your family, and get your friends ready to meet the Son of God because we are soon and very soon to leave this world to meet Jesus Christ in the clouds of Glory.

What does God have for you…just around the corner?



Subscribe in a reader

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

