Awww, Do I Havvvve Toooooo?

Can you picture your child at about the age of 6 or 7 saying the above title? We all were that way at one time. Actually, many of us are still that way to a certain extent.

I debated whether or not to post on Erev Yom Kippur. I decided to post a short one (since I can schedule it for a certain time anyway).

The question has been asked, “Bro. Kyle, do I HAVE to observe the High Holy Days?”

The answer is….of course not.

Neither do you HAVE to go to Sunday School. Neither do you HAVE to go to Church. Neither do you HAVE to love your neighbor. Neither do you HAVE to love the Lord thy God. Neither do you HAVE to tithe and give offerings.

The Lord Jesus is clear throughout the New Testament that we do not HAVE to do much of anything. Rather, He desires us to do what we do from our hearts out of love for Him.

Ephesians 6:6, Not with eyeservice, as menpleasers; but as the servants of Christ, doing the will of God from the heart;

Psalms 51:16-17, For thou desirest not sacrifice; else would I give it: thou delightest not in burnt offering.  The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit: a broken and a contrite heart, O God, thou wilt not despise.

John 14:15  If ye love me, keep my commandments.

John 14:21  He that hath my commandments, and keepeth them, he it is that loveth me: and he that loveth me shall be loved of my Father, and I will love him, and will manifest myself to him.

Matthew 12:35  A good man out of the good treasure of the heart bringeth forth good things: and an evil man out of the evil treasure bringeth forth evil things.

Romans 6:17  But God be thanked, that ye were the servants of sin, but ye have obeyed from the heart that form of doctrine which was delivered you.

2 Corinthians 9:7  Every man according as he purposeth in his heart, so let him give; not grudgingly, or of necessity: for God loveth a cheerful giver.

1 John 3:21  Beloved, if our heart condemn us not, then have we confidence toward God.

I hope that you are observing the High Holy Days. They help us to turn our whole heart and mind toward God. Does it get any better than that?

What does God have for you…just around the corner?

Leave a Reply

