Adopting an Attitude

My blog posts automatically forward to the web site at kingdomwatchonline.org. I recently checked to see if they were in fact posting on the site and found that they indeed are. I discovered something else though, as I perused through some of the past posts. When I write a post, I always try to italicize scripture references so that they stand out from the main body of the text. Somewhere between WordPress (my blog host) and the web site, something is lost. I noticed the scripture is not italicized. Other things I had “bolded” and/or “underlined” did not come through either. I told you all that to tell you this. If you are reading my posts via the web site, I apologize that they do not look as good or are not as easily read there. Some of my faithful subscribers get the posts sent directly to their e-mail inbox, so they may not have this problem; I’m really not sure how it looks in your inbox. Hopefully all the editing and touchups do come through there.

On with the post.

Last Thursday, I had written a little about our adoption into the family of God. We talked a little about it this Sunday. I wanted to share some of the insights of my Brothers and Sisters, insights that really blessed me to hear and I hope bless you, as well.

First of all, think about what a person must go through to adopt a child. It takes a great deal of time, it takes a great deal of investigation, and it takes a great deal of money. In other words a person must really WANT that child to go through all that trouble and to pay such a price. Now think of the price God paid to adopt you and me. John 3:16-17, For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. For God sent not his Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through him might be saved. That is real love. He really WANTS YOU.

Secondly, a natural child can come along by accident. Oh, come on, you know its true. It is just a fact of life. An adopted child is no accident. An adopted child is adopted on purpose. Again, He really WANTS YOU.

Thirdly, it is more difficult, if not impossible, to disown or disinherit an adopted child than a natural child. That is just the way our legal system works. Don’t worry, God’s legal system is perfect, His law is light. Hebrews 13:5, …he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee. NEVER!

Romans 8:16-17, The Spirit itself beareth witness with our spirit, that we are the children of God: And if children, then heirs; heirs of God, and joint-heirs with Christ; if so be that we suffer with him, that we may be also glorified together.

We need to adopt an attitude; an attitude of gratefulness to our God Who has made us …a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that ye should shew forth the praises of him who hath called you out of darkness into his marvellous light: Which in time past were not a people (Godless Gentiles), but are now the people of God: which had not obtained mercy, but now have obtained mercy (1 Peter 2:9&10).

What does God have for you…just around the corner?

Leave a Reply

