Psalms 102:21, To declare the name of the LORD in Zion, and his praise in Jerusalem;

I don’t think it is any secret…I WANT TO GO TO ISRAEL!

I feel a connection. I feel drawn. I feel I would not come back if I did go, so maybe that’s why the Lord hasn’t seen fit to send me yet, for the sake of my precious wife who would probably, more than likely, if I had to guess, want to come back to the United States (at least for as long as they are united).

Many people here in the U.S., upon learning that anyone would want to go to Israel, always say something like, “Oh, not me! It’s too dangerous! Why on earth would you want to go there?”

If one keeps up with the news in Israel at all, it is quickly apparent there are some places one would not want to go, but that does not include the entire country. There are places in Jackson, TN. I don’t wander off into either (and I try to stay away from Memphis as much as possible, as well).

I just obtained this article from Arutz Sheva, my primary Israeli news source, and it has given me the fever once again. Oh well, if I don’t go in this life, I will definitely go in the next!!! Hope to see you there (underlying message: if you know Jesus, I will see you there. If you don’t…).

The year 5770 of the Hebrew calendar, which comes to a close in three weeks, is the best-ever Hebrew year for incoming tourism: about 3.1 million tourists visited Israel during 5770 – 18 percent more than in 5769, when the number of tourists was 2.6 million, and 10 percent more than recorded in 5768.

During the past few months, the Tourism Ministry has been preparing to welcome the 260,000 tourists who are expected to visit Israel during the Jewish holidays in September as well as the tens of thousands of Israelis who are expected to visit tourist, leisure and entertainment sites around the country.

Tourism Minister Stas Misezhnikov has toured the country in recent months to investigate the readiness and levels of cleanliness and maintenance of hotels and tourism attractions. The minister will also visit additional hotels in the coming days in Eilat, Jerusalem and Tel Aviv, where particularly high levels of occupancy are expected, in order to check their readiness, levels of cleanliness and maintenance for the upcoming Rosh HaShanah New Year holidays.

Inspection teams from the Ministry will carry out inspections in tourism areas where high tourist traffic is expected during the Jewish holidays in order to ensure a pleasant vacation for tourists and Israelis alike.

Minister Misezhnikov said that the focused marketing efforts of the ministry in the last year have succeeded in significantly increasing incoming tourism and improving Israel’s image as an attractive tourism destination. “The Tourism Ministry will increase its marketing activity in the coming year in order to progress the ministry’s target of bringing another million tourists to Israel by 2012 and 5 million by 2015,” he added.

Leave a Reply

