Baptized to be Saved?

repent_FullRemember a short time ago we talked about the ultimate confession? Let me jog your memory (I know many times mine needs an out right running to get it going…you’ll get it tomorrow).

Peter makes the ultimate confession, the confession that is the very rock the church is built on…Matthew 16:16, And Simon Peter answered and said, Thou art the Christ, the Son of the living God.

The Ethiopian Eunuch makes the confession…Acts 8:36-37, And as they went on their way, they came unto a certain water: and the eunuch said, See, here is water; what doth hinder me to be baptized? And Philip said, If thou believest with all thine heart, thou mayest. And he answered and said, I believe that Jesus Christ is the Son of God.

What took place in just these two verses? The Rock that the church is built on is this confession, that Jesus is the Christ. If we confess that as a public profession of faith, what will the Lord Jesus do?

Matthew 10:32, Whosoever therefore shall confess me before men, him will I confess also before my Father which is in heaven.

Luke 12:8, Also I say unto you, Whosoever shall confess me before men, him shall the Son of man also confess before the angels of God:

Ok, I’m getting to today’s point; some people teach that one cannot be saved unless they are baptized. Baptism IS extremely important for many reasons, not the least of which is obedience in following in the Lord’s footsteps. Baptism is not today’s topic, is it necessary for salvation? That is the topic.

Consider the thief on the cross. We have all heard the argument that he wasn’t baptized and yet he was saved. Have you ever asked yourself “why” he was saved? Did the Lord just up and give him a pardon because he was being nice? Did He let him off the hook because he was showing some mercy? No and no.

GO GET YOUR BIBLE! Read Luke 23:39-43

Pay very close attention to verse 42, And he said unto Jesus, Lord, remember me when thou comest into thy kingdom.

That my friends is a confession, he confessed Jesus as Lord. How did he come to know that by just hanging on a cross? The same way Peter did. The same way you and I do.

Matthew 16:17, And Jesus answered and said unto him, Blessed art thou, Simon Barjona: for flesh and blood hath not revealed it unto thee, but my Father which is in heaven.

