Prayer

Can I share my heart with you today? (Pardon me all you English teachers, “May I”) In more than one passage, Paul tells us to pray in the Spirit. For example, Ephesians 6:18, Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints;
Let’s be honest, do you ever have trouble getting into the Spirit? Sure, we all do at times. God hears our honest, earnest prayers but you and I both know that there are those times when you KNOW you have entered into the very Throne Room of God, I mean you know you are at the feet of the Saviour, you are in the Spirit.
Everyone’s personal relationship with the Lord is just that; personal. What may work for one may not work for the other in some things. Prayer is one of those things. I have heard people say that worship music works for them, getting them in the Spirit. I have heard others say that just being still in their prayer closet and knowing He is God will get them in the Spirit.
Let me share with you what I do, maybe it will help some of you. Besides, this is what we do, we share with one another all the things Christ is doing in our lives to encourage one another and build one another up. We never know what another believer is going through or dealing with that what we share may help.
What really gets me in the Spirit is praying the Psalms. Personalizing them and praying them. The words of the Psalms speak things that sometimes I feel but can’t get out on my own. Once I start praying the Psalms, it’s not long until my own words from my own heart are flowing out before the Throne of Grace and there I am…in the Spirit.
Here is an example of what I mean, praying the Psalms…
Psalm 1:1-3 (bare in mind, this is personalized, not quoted),
Blessed am I, O Lord, when I walk not in the counsel of the ungodly or stand in the way of sinners or sit in the seat of the scornful.
O but my delight is in Your law, and in Your law do I meditate day and night.
I will be like a tree planted by the rivers of water that brings forth fruit in his season, my leaf also shall not wither, and whatsoever I do, O Lord, shall prosper.
There is a Psalm for just about anything that’s going on in your life. Try praying the Psalms before the Lord and Bless His Holy Name!
prayCan I share my heart with you today? (Pardon me all you English teachers, “May I”) In more than one passage, Paul tells us to pray in the Spirit. For example, Ephesians 6:18, Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints;
Let’s be honest, do you ever have trouble getting into the Spirit? Sure, we all do at times. God hears our honest, earnest prayers but you and I both know that there are those times when you KNOW you have entered into the very Throne Room of God, I mean you know you are at the feet of the Saviour, you are in the Spirit.
Everyone’s personal relationship with the Lord is just that; personal. What may work for one may not work for the other in some things. Prayer is one of those things. I have heard people say that worship music works for them, getting them in the Spirit. I have heard others say that just being still in their prayer closet and knowing He is God will get them in the Spirit.
Let me share with you what I do, maybe it will help some of you. Besides, this is what we do, we share with one another all the things Christ is doing in our lives to encourage one another and build one another up. We never know what another believer is going through or dealing with that what we share may help.
What really gets me in the Spirit is praying the Psalms. Personalizing them and praying them. The words of the Psalms speak things that sometimes I feel but can’t get out on my own. Once I start praying the Psalms, it’s not long until my own words from my own heart are flowing out before the Throne of Grace and suddenly there I am…in the Spirit.
Here is an example of what I mean, praying the Psalms…
Psalm 86:8-12 (bare in mind, this is personalized, not quoted),
There is none like You, O Lord and no works like Your works!
All nations will come and worship before Your Throne and will glorify Your name!
O Lord, for You are great and You do wondrous things, You are God alone!
Teach me Your ways, Father, and I will walk in truth. O God, cause my whole heart to fear Your name.
I will praise You, O Lord my God, with my whole heart and I will glorify Your name forever.
There is a Psalm for just about anything that’s going on in your life. Try praying the Psalms before the Lord and Bless His Holy Name!
p.s. You have to go see this…very important…http://www.israelnationalnews.com/News/News.aspx/132655
